Point of Care Resources
Four Point-of-Care resources are recommended. The handout and video below compare them.
- Video above is from publisher. More on VetCompanion YouTube Channel.
- Comments from veterinary librarian:
- 303 Topics and counting
- Dogs and cats only
- Papich Drug Formulary NOT included in UT subscription (costs $10,000/year!)
- Use Papich ebook instead. Click on this link to go to it.
- Check out the new Procedures section of VetCompanion.
- To use VetCompanion, start at databases menu or go direct to VetCompanion here: https://libguides.utk.edu/databases/40794805
Video above is from publisher. More on Vetstream YouTube Channel
- Comments from veterinary librarian
- Expert opinion plus client handouts and multimedia on dogs, cats, exotics, rabbits, cows, horses
- 1000 Client handouts
- Lovely statement of The Information Problem veterinary teams face
- More information from the publisher here https://vetstream.com/treat
- To use Vetlexicon, start at databases menu or go direct to Vetlexicon here https://libguides.utk.edu/databases/46288666
Comments from veterinary librarian
- Links to other VIN resources including 1800 handouts in Veterinary Partner
- Expert opinion
- See flyer for more info--check VIN Bookstore for updates to flyer.
- Included with Student and Academia access to VIN. Contact VIN directly for access if you don't already have it.
Consultant is free to anyone anywhere
- 5300 diseases of 8 species, continually updated
- When searched by Diagnosis, provides expert opinion by listing citations to articles filtered by Dr. White for quality and clinical relevance
- When searched by Sign, provides diagnostic support
- LifeLearn Sofie Virtual DVM AssistantAsk about how Sofie integrates into medical record systems
- UpToDate (human)--on the UT Libraries' databases menuAn evidence-based medicine (EBM) tool that assists (human) healthcare providers with point-of-care decisions.
MAXINE THE DOG CASE
Human-Friendly URL to this guide: https://tiny.utk.edu/maxine
Plumb's Veterinary Drug Handbook Online VersionNow has Pet Owner Medication Guides for 450 drugs written by Dr. Plumb.
Fluid, Electrolyte, and Acid-Base Disorders in Small Animal Practice 4th ed by Publication Date: 2012E-Book and Paper
Veterinary emergency and critical care manual 3rd ed by Publication Date: 2017Paper only
Earlier editions available
Small Animal Clinical Diagnosis by Laboratory Methods by ISBN: 9781437706581Publication Date: 2011E-Book and Paper
Small Animal Medical Differential Diagnosis 2nd ed by Publication Date: 2018E-Book only
Paper copies of earlier editions available
Kirk and Bistner's Handbook of Veterinary Procedures and Emergency Treatment 9th ed by Publication Date: 2012E-book and Paper
Manual of Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care Medicine 2nd ed by Publication Date: 2012E-BOOK and Paper
Manual of Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care Medicine 2nd ed by ISBN: 9780813824734Publication Date: 2012Paper
Diagnostic Radiology and Ultrasonography of the Dog and Cat 5th ed by Publication Date: 2010E-book and Paper
Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult: Canine and Feline 6th ed by Publication Date: 2016E-book and Paper- Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult: Canine and Feline 6th ed by TilleyPublication Date: 2016PAPER
Advanced Monitoring and Procedures for Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care by Publication Date: 2012E-Book and Paper
Emergency Procedures for the Small Animal Veterinarian by Publication Date: 2013
Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Consult - Laboratory Tests and Diagnostic Procedures by Publication Date: 2009
Handbook of Canine and Feline Emergency Protocols 2nd ed by Publication Date: 2014E-book only
Earlier edition available
Medical History and Physical Examination in Companion Animals 2nd ed by Publication Date: 2008E-book and Paper
Blackwell's Five-Minute Veterinary Practice Management Consult 2nd edPublication Date: 2013SEE "Legal Issues" in Section 12
E-book and Paper
earlier edition available- Diagnostic Radiology and Ultrasonography of the Dog and Cat 5th ed by Publication Date: 2010
Handbook of Veterinary Neurology by Publication Date: 2010
Textbook of Veterinary Physiological Chemistry by Publication Date: 2014
Dukes' Physiology of Domestic AnimalsPublication Date: 2015
Handbook of Veterinary Pain Management 3rd edition by Publication Date: 2014E-Book Only 3rd edition
Earlier editions are in paper and ebook
Textbook of Veterinary Internal Medicine 8th ed by Publication Date: 2016Paper only 8th edition
Earlier editions available in the stacks or as ebook- Medical Mathematics and Dosage Calculations for Veterinary Technicians byPublication Date: 2018Ebook and paper
Medical Mathematics and Dosage Calculations for Veterinary Professionals by Publication Date: 2000Paper only
Animal Laws of Tennesseee 2014 editionCompiled by CAIT at UT CVM
E-book only--linked from CAIT Web site
Companion Animal Initiative of Tennessee = CAIT
- Client Information from VINFree to anyone anywhere. Written by veterinarians or technicians.
- ClientED from LifelearnSubscription service; can be integrated into the medical records systems in private practice.
- "Your Prescription for Internet Information"InfoRx form for clients ready to use.
- Plumb's Veterinary Drugs has Veterinary Medicatiion GuidesLook for the Veterinary Medication guide link for each drug. Written by Plumb himself.
