Introduction
I am working on expanding and improving this Research Guide. Please contact me if you have questions or suggestions!
- - Louisa Trott, Arts & Humanities Librarian
Databases for Articles and Other Resources
Full-Text Databases (Find Complete Articles)
- Art Full Text
A multidisciplinary database of art information featuring full-text articles dating back to 1995, indexing and abstracting dating as far back as 1984 as well as indexing and abstracting of art dissertations.
Online Access - 4 simultaneous users. - Humanities International CompleteCitations and selected full-text for key Humanities journals. Excellent for cross-discipline searching.
- JSTOR
This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of selected scholarly journals, books, images, and primary sources in humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Project MuseFull-text of scholarly journals and books in the humanities and social sciences.
Citation Indexes (Link to or Request Articles)
Use Interlibrary Loan to get articles or books you find but that we don't have in our collections. Scroll down to "Borrowing from Other Libraries" at the end of this page to find out more.
- ARTbibliographies ModernSearch this index for journal articles, books, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
- Art Index RetrospectiveAn archive index chronicling art literature, including fine, decorative and commercial art from 1929 to 1984.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary section of Web of Science covering scholarly literature in the arts and humanities from 1975 to present. - International Bibliography of ArtProvides scholarly literature on Western Art. For material published between 1975 and 2007, also use the Getty Research Institute's Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA), available for free on their site.
Specialized Databases
Resources for finding images, books and digitized books, and databases focusing on geographic areas or time periods (or providing general reference information) are listed below.
Images
See our Images research guide for tips on where to start your search
Digital Public Library of America
Discover millions of images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States
Europeana
Discover Europe’s digital cultural heritage - search, save and share art, books, films and music from thousands of cultural institutions. Sections include:
- Art Explore artists and art movements, and discover stories about the history of art and its paintings, drawings, engravings and sculptures.
- Photography Explore the history of photography, discover incredible images and find out about the photographers behind them.
- ARTstor
- This link opens in a new window
More than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. With a registered account you can also curate groups of images, share them, and download them directly into presentations.
Artstor's high-quality collections and key functionality are now on JSTOR. If you have image groups on Artstor, they will be automatically copied over to your JSTOR Workspace starting February 1, 2024.
The old Artstor website will be retired on August 1, 2024.
Books and Digitized Books
Use Resource Sharing to request books and articles we don't own or have accessible at the UT Libraries
- HathiTrust Digital Library
A collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
- FirstSearchSearch millions of bibliographic records from worldwide library collections.
Other Specialized Databases
- Design & Applied Arts IndexBibliographic access to design, craft and applied arts journals and newspapers, and data on designers and studios. Coverage from 1973 to current.
- Index of Medieval ArtImages and descriptive data related to the iconography of works of art produced between late Antiquity and the sixteenth century.
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and RenaissanceExplore Iter Press databases, bibliographies, journals, and books about the Middle Ages and Renaissance, 400-1700.
- Oxford Art OnlineSearch all aspects of art research, including biographies, art forms, geographical areas and time periods, collectors, patrons, styles and themes.
