This is the "Home" page of the "English Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Skip to Main Content

Services for Individuals with Disabilities

Frequently Used Tools:


English Studies   Tags: english, literary criticism, literature  

This guide will help you find a wide range of resources for all courses in English literature.
Last Updated: Aug 5, 2014 URL: http://libguides.utk.edu/english Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Chris Caldwell
Contact Info
Assistant Professor
Humanities Services Librarian
152L Hodges Library
1015 Volunteer Blvd
Knoxville, TN 37996
865.974.0019
Send Email
 

Starting Points

Books, Audio-visual Materials, etc.

Hodges Library Catalog

WorldCat

Google Books

Google Scholar


Articles:

You are encouraged to search MLA International Bibliography (MLAIB) and Literature Online (LION)  in tandem as they are both powerful and have surprisingly little overlap in results. LION includes the British Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature.

For all languages and time periods: Literature Resource Center, Literature Criticism Online, and MLA International Bibliography (MLAIB)

For British and American literature: Literature Online (LION)

For Linguistics: Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) and MLA International Bibliography

For the most recent articles: Academic Search Premier, Expanded Academic ASAP and Humanities International Complete

For full text articles from a number of fields: JSTOR and Project MUSE


Dictionaries and Encyclopedias:

Oxford English Dictionary

Merriam-Webster Online

Oxford Reference Online - See the Literature section

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism


Research Advice:

MLA Literary Research Guide - A selective, annotated guide to reference sources essential to the study of British literature, literature of the United States, other literatures in English, and related topics.

 

New Items

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Please Comment

Research guides are living entities. Please send comments and additional resource ideas to ccaldwell@utk.edu.


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip