This is the "Home" page of the "Community Data" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Skip to Main Content

Services for Individuals with Disabilities

Frequently Used Tools:


Community Data   Tags: statistics  

Statistical resources for community and neighborhood demographics.
Last Updated: Sep 2, 2013 URL: http://libguides.utk.edu/community Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Key Databases

American FactFinder - Census Bureau
Find demographic and economic data from the Census of Population & Housing, the American Community Survey, and the Economic Census. Provides data for all geographies including the U.S., states, counties, cities, towns and 5-digit zip codes.

Social Explorer
Access current and historical Census data and other neighborhood demographics. Create reports and maps.

ProQuest Statistical Insight
Find statistics on population, economic conditions, labor, health, education, natural resources, pollution, and many other topics. Includes abstracts, citations, and direct links to tables. Enter topic then use filters to select by local area.

ProQuest Statistical DataSets
Presents statistical data from governments and commercial publishers in viewable side-by-side tables and charts.

LexisNexis Academic
Search full text regional and local newspapers for local information on education, crime, and other community issues.

 

About This Guide

This guide provides a list of resources, grouped by the topics in the tabs along the top, that are useful for creating community profiles. Included are links to finding demographic, economic, geographic, cultural and other data useful for community analysis.

Content areas:

  • Databases/Handbooks
    UT Libraries databases, handbooks, and other statistical resources.

  • Comunity Descriptions
    Find resources that describe the community including information on history, geography, transportation, cost-of-living,etc.

  • Demographics
    Census Bureau and other resources to find characteristics of the population.

  • Crime

  • Economics & Labor
     
  • Education 

  • Health & Environment

  • Religion

  • Weather



Social Science Data Services Librarian

Profile Image
Eleanor Read
Chat requires JavaScript.
Contact Info
146 Hodges Library
Knoxville, TN 37996-1000
865-974-0011
eread@utk.edu
Send Email
 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip