UTK Databases
- Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineA fully text-searchable corpus of books, pamphlets and broadsides in all subjects published during the 18th Century in the United Kingdom with digitized images.
- Defining GenderPrimary source material for the study and analysis of gender, leisure and consumer culture from 1450 to 1910. Key topics: Conduct and Politeness, Domesticity and the Family, Consumption and Leisure, Education and Sensibility and The Body.
- Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers CollectionA digitized collection of predominantly London newspapers of the 17th & 18th centuries. Also includes broadsides, newsbooks, pamphlets, periodicals, and a few provincial newspapers.
- Eighteenth Century JournalsBritish newspapers and periodicals, published from 1685-1820, from several US and British Libraries.
- Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Nichols Newspapers CollectionDigitized UK newspaper collection covering the period 1672-1737. The collection charts the history of the development of the press in England and provides invaluable insight into seventeenth and eighteenth century England.
- Perdita ManuscriptsContains manuscripts either written or collected by women in Great Britain during the 16th and 17th centuries. Contents include advice, diaries, medical writings, sermon notes, and travel writing.
- British Library Newspapers, 1732-1950Full-text collection of both national and regional British newspapers. Digitized with full article images. Coverage from 1732 to 1950.
UT Libraries has access to modules 1-5.
Open Source Databases
The Proceedings of the Old Bailey, 1674-1913
A fully searchable edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court.
https://www.oldbaileyonline.org/
***
Lexicons of Early Modern English
LEME searches and displays word-entries from monolingual English dictionaries, bilingual lexicons, technical vocabularies, and other encyclopedic-lexical works, 1480-1755.
http://leme.library.utoronto.ca/
***
Homosexuality in Eighteenth-Century England: A Sourcebook
Other Key Resources
- Oxford English DictionaryOED is the pre-eminent historical dictionary of the English language. New content continuously added.
The OED migrated to a new interface in 2023. Library users who set up a personal profile - which may have included content, searches, and display preferences - on the old interface will see that those are unavailable with the new site launch. You will need to create a new account on the new site in order to use the personal profile benefit. More information on how to do this on the new interface can be found here at https://www.oed.com/information/get-help-with-access/individual-account/. - Gale Primary SourcesCross-search and explore history through all available Gale Primary Sources databases focusing on American and British history. Browse and filter by date, content type, and more. A great place to begin your research!
- Early English Books OnlineFull-text and page images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Biographies of significant, influential or notorious figures who shaped British history.
Online Access - 1 simultaneous user
Literary Research and the British Eighteenth Century by ISBN: 9780810887961Publication Date: 2013-01-01This volume explores primary and secondary resources, including general literary research guides; union library catalogs; print and online bibliographies; scholarly journals; manuscripts and archives; 18th-century books, newspapers, and periodicals; contemporary reception; and electronic texts and journals, as well as Web resources.
