Skip to content

U. S. History: The Nineteenth Century and the Civil War:Civil War Cartographic Information

Guide to the study of the United States in the 19th century and to the American Civil War.

Bibliographies

Civil War Maps: An Annotated List of Maps and Atlases in the Library of Congress, 2nd ed.  Ref: GA405.5.L5 1989.

Lists maps, charts and atlases depicting troop positions, movements, engagements and fortifications, both from the time period and produced later to explain specific events.  Includes a good introduction to the subject.  Organized geographically with U.S. maps first followed by state maps.  A list of two large map collections, Hotchkiss and Sherman, and indexes by title and subject matter are also provided.

Civil War Newspaper Maps: A Cartobibliography of the Northern Daily Press, Ref: GA405.5.U5B67 1993.

Lists over 2000 maps published in Northern newspapers during the war years.  Organized by newspaper with a subject index.  A companion to Civil War Newspaper Maps: A Historical Atlas.

Atlases

Atlas of the Civil War, Ref:  E468.W754 2004.

            Detailed coverage of the war in text, maps, and photographs.

 Atlas of the Civil War Month by Month: Major Battles and Troop Movements, Ref:  E470.S94 2004.

            Atlas of major events, month by month, in maps and text.

 Civil War Newspaper Maps, Ref: G1201.S5B6 1993.

            Maps selected from newspapers to illustrate battles.  A companion to Civil War Newspaper Maps: A Cartobibliography of the Northern Daily Press.

 Historical Atlas of the Congresses of the Confederate States of America, 1861-1865, Ref: G1281.F8M3 1994.

            Maps and analyzes the political geography of the Civil War South by focusing on the legislative branch of the Confederate States of America.

The Official Military Atlas of the Civil War, Ref: G1201.S5U6 1983.

            Reprint of original atlas accompanying the Official Records.  Includes official military maps, mostly drawn during the war.  Cross-reference     tables are included to correlate the maps with the volumes of the Official Records.  An index to maps in the Official Records is also provided.

History and Medieval Studies Librarian

Anne Bridges's picture
Anne Bridges
Contact:
Special Collections
Hodges Library
abridges@utk.edu
865-974-0017
Subjects:History

Battle of Logan's Crossroads or Mill Springs, KY