Point of Care Resources
Four Point-of-Care resources are recommended. The handout and video below compare them.
- Video above is from publisher. More on VetCompanion YouTube Channel.
- Comments from veterinary librarian:
- 303 Topics and counting
- Dogs and cats only
- Papich Drug Formulary NOT included in UT subscription (costs $10,000/year!)
- Use Papich ebook instead. Click on this link to go to it.
- Check out the new Procedures section of VetCompanion.
- To use VetCompanion, start at databases menu or go direct to VetCompanion here: https://libguides.utk.edu/databases/40794805
Video above is from publisher. More on Vetstream YouTube Channel
- Comments from veterinary librarian
- Expert opinion plus client handouts and multimedia on dogs, cats, exotics, rabbits, cows, horses
- 1000 Client handouts
- Lovely statement of The Information Problem veterinary teams face
- More information from the publisher here https://vetstream.com/treat
- To use Vetlexicon, start at databases menu or go direct to Vetlexicon here https://libguides.utk.edu/databases/46288666
Comments from veterinary librarian
- Links to other VIN resources including 1800 handouts in Veterinary Partner
- Expert opinion
- See flyer for more info--check VIN Bookstore for updates to flyer.
- Included with Student and Academia access to VIN. Contact VIN directly for access if you don't already have it.
Consultant is free to anyone anywhere
- 5300 diseases of 8 species, continually updated
- When searched by Diagnosis, provides expert opinion by listing citations to articles filtered by Dr. White for quality and clinical relevance
- When searched by Sign, provides diagnostic support
- LifeLearn Sofie Virtual DVM AssistantAsk about how Sofie integrates into medical record systems
- UpToDate (human)--on the UT Libraries' databases menuAn evidence-based medicine (EBM) tool that assists (human) healthcare providers with point-of-care decisions.
Books for Oliver the Bird case
The Veterinary Fee Reference 10 edPublication Date: 2018
Exotic Animal Formulary by Publication Date: 2018E-book Only this edition
older editions available in paper and e-book
Plumb's Veterinary Drug Handbook Online VersionNow has Pet Owner Medication Guides for 450 drugs written by Dr. Plumb.
Saunders Handbook of Veterinary Drugs 4th ed by Publication Date: 2015E-book and Paper
CLIENT HANDOUTS at http://www.papichdrugformulary.com/ClientHandouts.php
CLIENT HANDOUTS: Papichdrugformulary.com"PapichDrugFormulary.com companion website includes more than 150 customizable client information handouts for commonly prescribed drugs, including information on the prescribed drug and dosage, do’s and don’ts, and possible side effects."
Bacterial and Parasitic Diseases, an Issue of Veterinary Clinics: Exotic Animal Practice by Publication Date: 2009
Fungal Diseases by Publication Date: 2003Veterinary clinics of North America. Exotic animal practice, v. 6, no. 2- Avian Respiratory Distress by E-book chapter in
Veterinary Clinics of North America: Exotic Animal Practice
Volume 14, Issue 2, May 2011, Pages 241–255 - Emergency and Critical Care of Pet BirdsE-book chapter in
Veterinary Clinics of North America: Exotic Animal Practice
Volume 10, Issue 2, May 2007, Pages 345–394 
Avian Medicine and Surgery in Practice 1st ed by Publication Date: 2010E-book and paper
2nd ed is E-book only see below
Exotic Pets BSAVA Manual by Paper only
Clinical Veterinary Advisor: Birds and Exotics by E-book and paper
Pathology of Pet and Aviary Birds by E-book and Paper
A Guide to a Naturally Healthy Bird by Paper only
Avian and Exotic Animal Hematology and Cytology by E-book and paper
Clinical Avian Medicine I & II by Paper Only- Avian Disease Manual 7th ed by Publication Date: 2013Paper only
Teaching reference for those interested in the major diseases of poultry. - Parrots by Publication Date: 1992--Pendergrass has 40 books by Rosemary Low, an authority on all aspects of parrot keeping--
Clinical pathology and sample collection by Publication Date: 1999Veterinary clinics of North America. Exotic animal practice, v. 2, no.3
Manual of Avian Medicine by Paper only- The Handbook of Amazon Parrots by Paper only
Exotics and Wildlife by Paper only
Amazon Parrots by Paper only
Avian Medicine: self assessment picture tests in veterinary medicine by Publication Date: 1999Paper only
Vet Clinics N. Am Exotic Animal Practice: Physical Examination and Preventive MedicinePublication Date: 1999E-book and paper
Handbook of Veterinary Anesthesia by E-book and Paper
Laboratory Medicine by Paper only
Vet Clinics Exotic Animal Practice: Critical Care by E-book and paper
Vet Clinics Exotic Animal Practice: Therapeutics by E-book and Paper
Veterinary Nursing of Exotic Pets 2nd ed by E-book and paper- Avian Histopathology 3rd edpaper only
- Pet avian medicine: Veterinary Clinics N America Small Animal PracticePublication Date: 1991
Animal Welfare in Veterinary Practice by Publication Date: 2013See entries in index under Consent. Author is the ethicist James Yeates. Highly recommended.
Writing Skills for Veterinarians by Publication Date: 2019Paper and E-book
Chapters 3-10 are on SOAPing
Chapter 11, section 11.2 "Client-centered written communication: discharge instructions"
Client Communication
- Veterinary Partner -- free from VIN for Vets and ClientsCompare the articles on parrot feeding/nutrition and other topics with ClientEd above.
Why and How to Search for Evidence: articles
- Evidence in Exotic Animal Practice: A "How-To Guide" PM Gibbons and J Mayer, Journal of Exotic Pet Medicine Volume 18, Issue 3, July 2009, Pages 174–180From the introduction: "In short, it is rarely a true lack of evidence that precludes exotic animal veterinarians from practicing EBM; rather, it is a perceived lack of readily accessible, clinically applicable scientific evidence. The goal of this article is to help lower the barriers in obtaining, assessing, and applying the best-available evidence in clinical exotic animal practice." From the conclusion: "The expertise required to search, assess, and integrate new information rapidly improves with practice, and the evidence-based clinical practice learning becomes more rewarding over time."
- Examples of how to search: Clinical and research searching on the wild side: exploring the veterinary literatureEffective information retrieval of the zoological medicine literature demands searching multiple databases, conference proceedings, and organization websites using a wide variety of keywords and controlled vocabulary.
Don't pay for access OR spend a lot of time trying to get access, AskUs!
Jeanine Williamson | jwilliamson@utk.edu | Veterinary Librarian (interim)
Jeffrey Hines | jhines@utk.edu | Evening Supervisor
Primary contacts for veterinary medicine @ Pendergrass Library
