The University of Tennessee, Knoxville

University Libraries

Great Smoky Mountains: Home

Guide to the Great Smoky Mountains Regional Project at the University of Tennessee Libraries.

Upcoming Events

Click here to view spectacular new video on the Smokies from More Than Just Parks

Go to this website for events in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park.

Announcing the William Derris Film Collection

Great Smoky Mountains Regional Project: Overview

The Great Smoky Mountains Regional Project provides support for researchers at all levels who study the Smokies and the surrounding communities. In this guide, you will find information on the following:

The Great Smoky Mountains Regional Bibliography:  Now in two parts, Terra Incognita: An Annotated Bibliography of the Great Smoky Mountains, 1544–1934, and Database of the Smokies (DOTS), an open access online bibliography of material published 1935 to present. 

The Great Smoky Mountains Regional Collection, an ongoing effort to collect and preserve material on the region.

Digital Collections:    A growing list of digitized photographs covering more than 100 years of life in the Smokies. 

The Great Smoky Mountains Colloquy:  Our biennial newsletter with feature articles, new book information, and updates on the Project.

Manuscript Collections at the University of Tennessee:  A listing of some of the collections in Special Collections that contain unique material on the Smokies. 

Horace Kephart:  Information about the most famous Smokies writer.

Smokies Organizations:  Links to orangizations that are involved with the Smokies. 

Repositories and Collections:  Links to other collections that have material on the Smokies. 

Laurel Falls:  Thompson Brothers Digital Photograph Collection

Great Smoky Mountains Regional Project Co-directors


Anne Bridges

Ken Wise

865-974-0288

smokies@utk.edu

Great Smoky Mountains Colloquy, v. 15, no. 2

Great Smoky Mountains Colloquy, v. 15, no. 2

 

 

 

Contribute to big ideas. Give to the Libraries.

The University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Big Orange. Big Ideas.

Knoxville, Tennessee 37996 | 865-974-1000
The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System