Skip to main content
Skip to content

Government Information: Federal, State & Local: Statistics

A guide to finding federal, state and foreign government information.

Quick Stats.

Detailed Stats.

Data.gov - "The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government."

Fedstats - Provides easy access to statistics produced by more than 70 federal agencies. Allows access to Principal Federal Statistical Agencies.

Health Data Interactive (CDC) - A selection of national health statistics.

Historical Census Files 1790- (Census Bureau)

Historical Census Browser (U.Va.) - Population and economy data for U.S. states and counties, 1790-1960.

Historical Census Publications (Univ. of Michigan)

IPUMS USA (Minnesota Population Center) - Integrated Public Use Microdata Series from U.S. Census data, 1790-

National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) - Aggregate historical census data, 1790-Present.

Social Explorer - Interactive historical data maps with selected data back to 1790.

ProQuest Statistical Insight - An index to over 100,000 statistical publications with links to the full- text of selected publications and web sites.

Tax Statistics (IRS) - Provides tables, articles, and data from the U.S. tax system.

Statistics on Veterans (VA) - Provides data related to veterans.

Migration Data - Migration patterns by state or by county for the entire United States.

Vital Statistics (National Center for Health Statistics)

Demographics

U.S. Census Bureau
A-Z directory

American FactFinder
Factsheets - quick popular facts about communities (US, states, counties, cities towns, and 5-digit ZIP Codes). Fact Sheets include information on people, housing, business & government.
DataSets - provides summary and detailed tables by geography, and demographic and housing characteristics for 100 percent and sample data.
Census 2000 Demographic Profiles
DP-1/General Demographic Characteristics
DP-2/Selected Social characteristics
DP-3/Selected economic characteristics
DP-4/Selected housing characteristics

Other options for data by County:

  • State and County QuickFacts
    QuickFacts provides frequently requested information on people, business and geography at the national, state and county level.
     
  • USA Counties in Profile (STATSAMERICA)
    Compare and contrast your county to others nationwide. The linked ranks provide a unique way to see counties and states when compared to everywhere else in the nation.

Economic Data

  • Economic Report of the President
    Basic economic information at the national-level.
     
  • Economic Census (check the online catalog for available print)
    The Economic Census profiles the U.S. Economy every 5 years at the national and local levels. Select - Quick Reports, then select the appropriate geography. Taken every five years, the Economic Censuses provide data for states, counties, places, MSAs, and zip codes on:
    Number of establishments and firms
    Employment
    Payroll
    Sales, receipts, or value of shipments
     
  • County Business Patterns 1986-
    (Print version: HC101.A184 - 1948-1997)
    Updates economic census information by providing annual data on establishments by employment size and payroll. Includes data on some economic activities not covered in other censuses such as banking, real estate and insurance. Data by County, State, U.S., ZIP, or MSA.
     
  • Regional Economic Data - U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis.
    Includes: State, Metropolitan & Local Area Personal Income; Fact Sheets for State & Local Areas; Gross Domestic Product for State & Metro areas.
     
  • U.S. Department of Agriculture, Economic Research Service
    Diet, Health, and Safety and Food and Nutrition Assistance
    State Fact Sheets provide information on population, income, education, employment, federal funds, organic agriculture, farm characteristics, farm financial indicators, top commodities, and exports, for each State in the United States. Links to county-level data are included when available.