Use newspapers and periodicals sources to find out about current United Nations activities in New York and abroad. These papers include significant coverage of the United Nations:
New York Times
The Times (London)
The Economist
- Daily Highlights: United Nations Brief Press Summaries. UN Dept. of Public Information—Central News Service, 1987–
Daily press summary listing key events at UN Headquarters in New York with reference to key documents. Issues 1995 and later are available on the UN web site.
- Press Releases. 1995-
United Nations Press release database
A press release series is published by every UN organ and body with varying frequency. They contain the very latest information on activities within the organization. Series are also issued on various current topics (for example, the HI series covers issues related to Haiti and the IK series covers the Iraq-Kuwait crisis). Another series—the BI series—contains biographical notes about UN personnel.
- UN Chronicle. New York: UN, 1950– (title varies)
Print: JX1977.A1 U564 (1964–1996 )
Quarterly magazine containing a summary of latest activities at the UN.
- Yearbook of the United Nations - complete collection (1946-2007) New York: UN Dept. of Public Information 1949–
Print: JX1977 .A37 Y4 Stacks
Annual authoritative publication on the activities of the organization during its most recent year. Includes extensive surveys of the activities of the principal organs with reference to resolutions, decisions, and major reports. Includes full text of the Secretary-General's "Report on the Activities of the Organization" and key resolutions. Extensive subject index. Includes summaries of activities of the major IGOs.