Digital Microform Collections
Many digitized microform collections are searchable databases that may be selected by subject on the Libraries Databases page. Some popular sets are listed below.
- American Periodicals Series Online
Digitized reproductions of more than 1,100 eighteenth and nineteenth century American newspapers and periodicals.
Derived from the acclaimed American periodicals series microform collection I (AP2.U5); II (AP2.U51), and III (AP2 .U53).
Read more about the American Periodical Series online and in microform. - Archive of Americana
Three historical research collections containing books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government
documents and ephemera printed in America spanning three centuries.
1. America's Historical Newspapers
Searchable American newspapers enable users to explore America's past. Available here: Early American Newspapers,
Series 1, 1690-1876; Series 1 (2009 ETC); Series 2, 1758-1900; Series 2 (2009 ETC); Series 3, 1829-1922 and
Series 3 (2009 ETC).
2. Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800
Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the renowned bibliography by Charles Evans
3. Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819
Books, pamphlets, broadsides and other imprints listed in the distinguished bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard
H. Shoemaker
- Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Contains pages from every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English
printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Covers many subject areas, including: English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics,
theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science. -
eHRAF Collection of Archaeology Dates vary.
eHRAF World Cultures
Full-text collections of archaeological and ethnographic documents from the Human Relations Area Files. Items not yet added
to the database are available in the microfiche collection located in Hodges, Room 120. -
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Based on the English Short Title Catalogue. Includes books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides. Works published in the UK
during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere. -
ERIC 1966+
The database includes journal articles and research reports (ED) on education. Includes the full-text of most ERIC
documents (ED's) from 1993 to present. Pre-1983 ED's not available digitally are located in Hodges, Room 120. - ProQuest History Vault
Primary source materials from ProQuest's University Publications of America (UPA) microfilm collection in digital format. Topics include African-American History, Southern plantation records, Vietnam War, Women's rights, American politics, etc.
