Skip to main content
Skip to content

Streaming Guide: Creating Clips

This guide will provide information about and resources for streamed video at Hodges Library

Creating Clips

Here you will find tips and programs on how to create from streamed video to use for your class.

Creating Clips

If you have questions now, contact Steven Milewski at smilewsk@utk.edu

 

Creating Clips from Alexander Street Press Videos

UT has access to the Alexander Street Press files through their server.  The tools used to create play lists are found in the collections and you must register with Alexander Street Press to use them.

  You only need to register and sign in to save and annotate items in a playlist, create and annotate clips, and edit your profile.  As long as you are entering from one of the UT sites, you will not have to sign in to Alexander Street Press to view a video. 

1.  To begin to create playlists or clips with any Alexander Street Press videos, you must first enter into the collection through the UT Libraries databases page.  Remember to correctly access any of the Alexander Street collections, you must first log in to them through the University Libraries' databases page.

2.  Once you have used your NetID to access the collection you must register with Alexander Street Press and create an account.  You will use your e-mail and a password that you create.  Right now the registration for "Theatre in Video" is separate from the other collections.  If you have already registered, you need only sign in.

3.  Information on creating and viewing the playlist can be found on the Alexander Street Press's help page.

Creating Clips with Films On Demand

Films on Demand does not let you make clips.  But it does divide most of its videos into very small titled segments.  Each segment is searchable individually and has its own URL codes if you want to use them to just show that segment

Contact Information

Steven Milewski
Contact:
Hodges Library Room 146B
University of Tennessee
1015 Volunteer Blvd
Knoxville, TN 37966

smilewsk@utk.edu

865 - 224 - 1200