Requesting a Streamed Video
Your subject librarian is the first contact you should make when wanting to request that the digital rights be purchased for a video for your class. Your subject librarian is also a wonderful resource for helping you find out what materials/programs are available for your field of study in a streaming format.
Questions?
If you have questions on streaming in general or need help finding materials in our catalog or getting contact information about your subject librarian, please e-mail me at smilewsk@utk.edu or call at 865 - 974 - 2647 and I'll be happy to help you!
OIT's Digital Media Services
OIT's Digital Media Services (DMS) will digitize videos from The Libraries' collection for class use only. Contact Digital Media Services for more information.
NOTE: Please allow extra time for processing requests due to COVID-19.
Streaming Music
For questions regarding streaming music, please contact the George F. DeVine Music Library You can call at 865 -974 -3474 or email at musiclib@utk.edu.
Streamed Videos!
UT Faculty and Students can now view documentaries and feature films from any computer or mobile device with an internet connection.
The Libraries video streaming collections can be found at
Video Streaming Collections.
Individual titles can be looked up in the Library Catalog
Faculty can add links to most videos on their class's CANVAS site.
How to search the Library's catalog for streamed video.
Using the Library Catalog:
1. Type in the title as you would a book's title and click "search"
2. On the next page under Format select "Streaming Videos"
If you are looking for videos in a particular subject area, type in the subject rather than the title!
The result will bring up streamed titles/links to documentaries and plays from:
• Academic Video Online (AVON) and other videostreaming collections from Alexander Street Press (a Proquest Company)
• Ambrose Digital
• Bullfrog Films
• Digital Campus (Swank)
• Docuseek2
• Facets
• Feature Films for Education
• Film Ideas
• Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection - (from Infobase)
• Icarus Films
• Ideas Roadshow
• Insight Media
• Kanopy
• Kino Lorber
• Media Education Foundation
• New Day Digital
• PBS Digital
• Psychotherapy.net
• Ro*co
• Sage Research Methods Video
• Sage Video
• Sage Video: Counseling and Psychotherapy
• Women Make Movies
• Zeitgeist Films
And also links to several government agencies' streamed videos including:
• National Institutes of Health
• Center for Disease Control and Prevention
Alexander Street Press
Alexander Street Press
Alexander Street Press consists of Academic Video Online (AVON), a large and comprehensive videostreaming collection and some smaller video streaming collections.
In addition to AVON, UT Libraries has the following collections from Alexander Street Press accessible through the AVON database (see link above) or you can search for individual titles in the Library's Catalog! Entire videos can be added to your CANVAS page or clips from the videos can be created.
• American History in Video
• Areas Studies Video Online
• Art and Architecture Video Online
• Business and Economics Video Online
• Counseling and Therapy in Video Volume I
• Couuseling and Therapy in Video Volume II
• Counseling and Therapy in Video Volume III
• Couuseling and Therapy in Video Volume IV
• Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video
• Dance in Video
• Education in Video
• Ethnographic Video Online
• Filmakers Library
• Health and Healthcare in Video
• Humanities Video Online
• The March of Time
• Opera in Video
• Philosophy and Religious Studies in Video
• Politics and Current Affairs Video Online
• Psychology Video Online
• Science Video Online
• Silent Film Online
• Theatre in Video
• Women's and Gender Studies Video Online
• World History in Video
• World Languages and Literature in Video
Feature Films For Education - Infobase
Feature Films for Education from Infobase
A video streaming feature film collection of 20th Century Fox and Fox Searchlight titles. Films are available to be used for classes and links can be put into Canvas. Can be viewed on or off campus.
Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection
FILMS ON DEMAND from Infobase
Films on Demand is a growing library of over 20,000 videos from the "Master Academic Collection" by Films Media Group. Also add is the "FMG Film Archival & Newsreel Collection"
These videos cover the Humanities and Sciences. In addition to the large Films for the Humanities collection it includes some videos from NOVA, PBS, BBC, and others. You can add a the whole video to CANVAS or just a generated segment from the video. You can search through this database here: Films on Demand
Films on Demand has an app for devices!
It is not always needed but the apps are designed for mobile devices. Users must sign in with the username and password for their subscribing library or user account (free) in order to access the videos on the Films On Demand app; a Films On Demand subscription is necessary to use the app.
DOWNLOAD THE FILMS ON DEMAND APP NOW: ANDROID
DOWNLOAD THE FILMS ON DEMAND APP NOW: APPLE
VIEW THE PRESS RELEASE
Kanopy
Kanopy is an offering of streaming videos. It is not a collection. A 1-year streaming license is purchased for titles requested for classes (normally takes 3 - 4 weeks to add a title)
Kanopy's films include media from Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, PBS, BBC, First Run Features, The Video Project, Film Ideas, and documentary education resources. We also have the complete Media Education Foundation collection through Kanopy. These can be added to CANVAS using the URL that is displayed at the top of the page the player opens.
• Media Education Foundation
Films encouraging critical thinking about the social, political, and cultural impact of America. With a special focus on representations of gender and race, and the effects these representations have on identity and culture. MEF films are especially well-suited for use in Women's Studies, Sociology, Race Studies, Communication, Anthropology, Education and Psychology courses.
Sage Research Guide Videos
- SAGE VideoMultidisciplinary videos, including case studies, conference talks, documentaries, interviews, tutorials, and more. Can be searched within Sage Video or chose to search by the disciplines.
Contact Information
University of Tennessee
1015 Volunteer Blvd
Knoxville, TN 37966
smilewsk@utk.edu