This is the "Home/Getting Started" page of the "Business: Marketing & Advertising" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Skip to Main Content

Services for Individuals with Disabilities

Frequently Used Tools:


Business: Marketing & Advertising  

Last Updated: Apr 9, 2014 URL: http://libguides.utk.edu/business-marketing Print Guide RSS Updates

Home/Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 

Getting Started/Key Databases

Below are the key databases for marketing and advertising research.  See also the full list of business related databases for additional options.

  • Simmons Study of Media & Markets
    Simmons is a statistical survey of consumer purchases and preferences. For help in using, see this Online Tutorial.
  • Ad$pender
    Tracks advertising expenditures for products, brands, and companies.
  • Advertising Redbooks.com
    Provides competitive intelligence on over 14,500 media companies and ad agencies. Also covers 21,000 companies that allocate over $200,000 annually for advertising campaigns.
  • Business Source Complete
    An index with full text of articles from over 3000 business magazines, including peer-reviewed journals. Covers both marketing and advertising.
  • MarketResearch.com Academic
    A collection of full-text market research reports providing details of target markets, competitors, and much more.
  • RDS Business & Industry
    Index of trade and industry journals covering company, industry, and product information. Useful in tracking advertising and marketing strategies.
  • SRDS Media Solutions
    Detailed advertising rates, contact information, and circulation data for a variety of media types including magazines, newspapers, radio, TV, and internet. Also includes demographic and lifestyle interests for counties and marketing areas (DMAs). Must use Internet Explorer.
 

Where to find government data when most Fed's websites are unavailable

When there was a lapse in government funding, several government data websites (for instance Census.gov) would be unavailable until further notice. This might cause inconvenience for your research.

I would like to make a note that we have ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States  or ProQuest Statistical Insight for most government data in e-version. We also have old census data in print on 3/F (call number - HD7293 .A6113).

Another tip that I would like to share with you: If you need information normally housed on one of the affected sites, don't forget about The Wayback Machine (http://archive.org/web/web.php).

For instance: USDA.gov works pretty well: http://web.archive.org/web/20130922084658/http://www.usda.gov/wps/portal/usda/usdahome

 

Assistant Professor / Business Librarian

Profile Image
P. Judy Li
Chat requires JavaScript.
Logo - Skype
Contact Info
V: 865-974-0013
Learning, Research & Engagement, Hodges Library
Credentials: BA(B.Admin), MLIS, MBA(Entrep.), now -doctoral program
Worked: libraries / research centers:academic, special & public (Biz/Law/Govt.)-US, Canada & HongKong
Send Email
 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip