This guide is designed to help you find databases, web resources, journals, and books related to Biosystems Engineering and Environmental Science.
The librarians and staff at Pendergrass Library can help at any step of the research process. If you're experiencing difficulty finding the information you need, using a database, citing your sources, or are having any other trouble, visit our Web site to contact someone for assistance by text chat, e-mail, or phone.
You can also visit us in person. Here's how to find Pendergrass Library, which is located on UT's Agriculture campus.
Recommended resources on Responsible Conducts of Research:
This document from the National Science Foundation.
Columbia University has a series of online courses on RCR here.
*Online resources at UT Libraries may require NetID and password for off-campus access.
In addition to the databases included in the Agriculture Databases Guide, the following databases may be useful for biosystems engeneeing and environmental science research:
- ASABE Technical Library
The ASABE Technical Library contains the full text of conference proceedings, meeting papers, journals, standards, and technical papers of the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers. Some books and textbooks are also available.
- ASTM Standards (IHS)
Full text of industry standards from eight agencies/associations.
Full-text journals in biological, ecological and environmental sciences. Most BioOne titles are published by nonprofit societies, associations, museums, research institutions, and university presses.
The primary index to engineering literature.
- Food Science & Technology Abstracts
An index of citations, abstracts, and full text from journal articles, conference proceedings, books, legislation, patents, reports, and theses and dissertations on the medical and biological aspects of food and nutrition.
This database may be searched concurrently with several other databases in this interface by selecting the tab "All Databases." For a list of these databases, select the tab "Select Databases." Click "Log Out" to end your session.
- Mechanical Engineering Abstracts
One of the Cambridge Scientific Abstracts Resources.
An index to materials in agriculture and other related fields. This database is excellent for US focused research conducted by the USDA. The database is international in scope; however, since the mid-1980s, the emphasis has shifted to indexing materials that are not indexed by other resources such as CAB Abstracts.
Subfields indexed include: animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental science.
- Biological Abstracts
Biological Abstracts indexes citations and abstracts from life science journals and meeting reports. Click 'All Databases' tab to search top biological sciences databases simultaneously: Bio Abs
, Web of Science
, Zoological Record
, and CABI
. Video tutorials
are available, as well as a quick reference card
Subfields indexed include: botany, microbiology, and pharmacology.
- CAB Abstracts
A comprehensive database indexing citations and abstracts from journals, books, reports, handbooks, conference proceedings, and other "grey" literature about significant international research and development literature in the applied life sciences.
Need help? See CAB Quick Reference Card Guide to Searching
, look for tutorials within the search interface, check the training sessions
available from Web of Knowledge, or contact the librarians
at Pendergrass Library.
Subfields indexed include: agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, applied economics, food science and nutrition.
- Google Scholar
A search engine for scholarly literature. Use this link to Google Scholar to be recognized as a University of Tennessee user and to see links to the UT FindText service. For more information on Google Scholar, see the Google Scholar FAQ
An index of peer-reviewed, full-text scientific, technical, and medical content. Content has embedded links to external datasets, including those from PANGAEA, Scopus, and Reaxys, where applicable.
- Web of Science
An index of the world's leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Includes simultaneous access to Food & Science Technology Abstracts, Biological Abstracts, BIOSIS, CAB Abstracts, MEDLINE and Zoological Records. Click here
for a list of journals indexed in Web of Science.
Agricultural Sciences & Natural Resources Librarian
(865) 974.2886click to email: firstname.lastname@example.org
A113 Veterinary Medical Center
Knoxville, TN 37996-4541