A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Trial
The 17th and 18th Century Nichols Newspapers Collection features London newspapers and pamphlets gathered by antiquarian and printer John Nichols. This collection charts the history of the development of the press in England and provides invaluable insight into 17th-18th century England. Held at the Bodleian Library, this collection spans the years 1672 to 1737 and complements the titles and issues found in 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers. The collection includes over 280 primary titles of newspapers and periodicals and about 300 pamphlets and broadsheets.

Trial runs from March 22, 2017 – June 20, 2017.

Please send feedback to Chris Caldwell ccaldwell@utk.edu
Trial
This important collection of papers from the American Civil Liberties Union spans the majority of the twentieth century, from 1912 to 1990. This archive focuses on civil rights, civil liberties, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court.

Trial runs from March 22, 2017 – June 20, 2017.

Please send feedback to Molly Royse mroyse@utk.edu
New
The Commercial Pattern Archive database, CoPA, provides a unique tool for researchers and designers to recreate or date clothing from 1868 to 2000. There are several collections from the States, Canada and the UK represented in the database which functions like a Union Catalog of pattern collections
Trial
Primary-source collection of ca. 45,000 fully-searchable documents from the Casa de las Américas in Havana, documenting the culture and cultural relations of Revolutionary Cuba and countries in Latin America and the Caribbean. Covers almost 60 years of cultural relations between Revolutionary Cuba and abroad.

Trial runs from March 6, 2017 – June 5, 2017.

Please send feedback to Kenya Flash kflash@utk.edu .
Trial
This archive presents a vast, expertly curated, comprehensive collection of significant primary source documents, arranged in collections that are central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945.
From the award-winning, nongovernmental National Security Archive, this resource consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present. Each collection is assembled by foreign policy experts and features chronologies, glossaries, bibliographies, and scholarly overviews to provide unparalleled access to the defining international issues of our time.


Trial runs from February 8, 2017 to May 10, 2017.

Please send feedback to Anne Bridges abridges@utk.edu.
Trial
Digitalia Film Library is a Multilanguage, multinational film library of streaming videos. The library includes Spanish, French, other European and Eastern European language films as well as North and South American films. Asian films will be added soon. Digitalia’s objective is to select documentaries and films to create collections by genre and country.

Trial runs from April 7, 2017 – July 5, 2017.

Please send feedback to Margaret Casado casado@utk.edu.
Trial
Digitalia Hispanica is a global academic database containing ebooks and ejournals in the Spanish language. The comprehensive Spanish language collection of 12,000+ ebooks contains titles ranging from Arts and Literature to Science and Technology. New content is added every year from Spanish speaking countries and Latin American publishing companies

During this trial, users can download on loan 5 documents at a time for 20 days. Because this is a multi-user service, several users can download the same document at the same time without waiting on another user to return it.

NOTE: To download a document, a personal account must be first created in Digitalia. In addition, Digitalia requires Adobe Digital Editions software to view the documents.


Trial runs from April 7, 2017 – July 5, 2017.


Please send feed back to Margaret Casado casado@utk.edu.
Trial
EBSCO Audiobook Collection trial offers a sampling of twenty-three titles. The sample is taken from EBSCO’s extensive collection of content including best-selling fiction and non-fiction, award-winning children’s and young adult books, and more.


After downloading the EBSCO Audiobooks app from iTunes or Google Play, the audiobooks can be downloaded on any of the following devices. The audiobooks cannot be downloaded to PC or Mac.
• Apple iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch running iOS 8 or higher.
• Android phone or tablet running Android version 5 or higher.



For additional information, see Audiobook Collection help



Trial runs from March 1, 2017 – May 29, 2017. Please send feedback to Chris Caldwell ccaldwell@utk.edu.
New
This collection is designed to help veterinary and veterinary tech students gain a strong foundation in veterinary anatomy, physiology, and behavior while learning basic veterinary procedures and an understanding of the workplace.
Trial
Gale Researcher connects Gale resources, like Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) articles and journals available through Academic OneFile, to library collections, enhancing the accessibility and value of library holdings.

We have access for one year (September 7,2016 - September 6, 2017). Please send feedback to Corey Halaychik (chalaych@utk.edu)
New
The Institute for Aegean Prehistory (INSTAP) was founded in 1982 to support projects relevant to the history of the Aegean world from the Paleolithic to the 8th century B.C. In 2001, the INSTAP Academic Press was started to help publish projects dealing with the subject of Aegean Prehistory. The Press is a scholarly publisher specializing in the publication of the primary source material from archaeological excavations as well as individual studies dealing with material from the prehistoric periods. All publications are in English.
Trial
Based on holdings of the law libraries of Harvard and Yale, and the Library of the Bar of the City of New York, this database offers online access to these important collections.

Trial runs from March 22, 2017 – June 20, 2017.

Please send feedback to Molly Royse mroyse@utk.edu
New
R2 Digital Library provides access 5000+ ebooks, videos and downloadable images primarily for the areas of Nursing, Medicine, and Allied Health. R2 also contains content for Psychology, Pharmacy and Veterinary Medicine.
Trial
Race Relations in America is a collection of primary source material focusing on race relations across three pivotal decades in the struggle for civil rights in the United States. Based at Fisk University from 1943-1970, the Race Relations Department was a forum enabling leading figures within the Civil Rights Movement to engage in a national discussion with community leaders on the challenges of overcoming prejudice and segregation. Its aim was to identify problem areas in race relations and develop courses of constructive action, under the leadership of the eminent sociologist Charles S. Johnson.
Correspondence and administrative material accompany photographs, sound recordings and transcripts of speeches delivered at the Annual Race Relations Institutes. Excellent survey material, featuring interviews, field worker reports, statistics and analyses, allows topics such as housing, employment in industry, the labor movement, school desegregation and church integration to be explored.
This resource enables the exploration of the struggle for civil rights in America through the eyes and work of sociologists, activists, psychologists, teachers, ministers, students and housewives, while showcasing the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Department’s staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.


*Please note that PDF download options are not available during trials.


Trial runs from February 9, 2017 to May 9, 2017.

Please send feedback to Steven Milewski smilewsk@utk.edu.
Trial
SAGE Video is a series of online collections developed in partnership with leading academics, societies and practitioners, including many of SAGE’s own authors and academic partners, to deliver cutting-edge pedagogical collections mapped to disciplinary curricular needs within the social sciences.

This trial allows the user access to the Criminology & Criminal Justice and Sociology video collections.

Trial runs from March 1, 2017 - April 27, 2017.

Please send feedback to Steven Milewski smilewsk@utk.edu.
Trial
Socialism on Film documents the communist world from the Russian Revolution until the 1980s. The digitized film covers all aspects of socialist life from society, war, culture, the Cold War, memory and contemporaneous views on current affairs. Footage includes documentaries, newsreels and feature films. Geographically the films deal with the Soviet Union alongside significant groupings of material on Vietnam, China, Korea, the German Democratic Republic and Eastern Europe, Britain, Spain, Latin America and Cuba.

Trial runs from March 8, 2017 – June 8, 2017 .

Please send feedback to Steven Milewski smilewsk@utk.edu.

*Please note that PDF download options are not available during trials.
New
Thieme's comprehensive communication science resource online features: more than 14,000 pages of Thieme e-book content; more than 7,000 images and videos; collected cases in Audiology and Speech Language Pathology; and simultaneous search across Seminars in Hearing, Seminars in Speech and Language, and PubMed.
New
Our nation, in numbers. Federal, state, and local data from over 70 government sources.
Trial
The USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive allows users to search through and view more than 53,000 video testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide. Initially a repository of Holocaust testimony, the Visual History Archive has expanded to include testimonies from the Armenian Genocide that coincided with World War I, the 1937 Nanjing Massacre in China, the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda, and the Guatemalan Genocide of 1978-1996. Also being added to the Archive are collections of Holocaust testimonies recorded and owned by other organizations, such as Jewish Family and Children's Services (JFCS) Holocaust Center, and a consortium of nine Canadian archives, which represent the Canadian Jewish experience across Canada.

Information to get started:
- Although, it works best on Internet Explorer, VHA is compatible with the Firefox browser on a PC and with the Safari browser on a Mac; however, you will need to install some extra software for Firefox and Mac compatibility. Please see Systems Requirements on the Login screen.
- First time users must register to create a Username and Password. You will use this Username and Password each time you login. For more information on how to search on this database, click the “User Guide” under the Help tab at top of page.

Trial runs from January 13, 2017 to April 13, 2017.

Please send feedback to Ken Wise kwise@utk.edu.
Trial
Focusing on the 19th and 20th centuries, Women's Studies Archive provides a history of the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society. Through a variety of documents such as diaries, letters, photographs, news clippings, organizational records, and journals, it presents a record of the issues that have affected women, societal contributions, social status, and women's movements.
Women's Issues and Identities is the first collection within the Women's Studies Archive module.

Trial runs from March 22, 2017 – June 20, 2017.

Please send feedback to Molly Royse mroyse@utk.edu
Loading...
Loading...

About E-Resources