How to Use Archives: A Video
I'm including this video because gives a good rundown of what is a finding aid and what is a collection.
This video goes on to tell you how to use SCOUT, a database that you won't use for this assignment.
To see an example of how the finding aid matches up to the boxes on MPA shelves, see "Locating in the Archives" below.
Locating Materials in Archival Collections
Archival collections are often broken up into groupings. We call these groupings series.
Series are groups of documents filed together, often because they were created or used for the same purpose.
Series themselves are sometimes broken up into subseries. That's definitely the case with Kefauver.
Let's take a look at the documents we have scanned from the Clinton School folder
ESTES KEFAUVER PAPERS, MPA.0144 (Collection)
>SUBJECT MATTER FILE (Series)
>CIVIL RIGHTS (Subseries)
> BOX 28
> Folder 2: States and cities, Clinton, 1956-1958
The original copies of the documents you see scanned here ,
came from Box 28 
(pic of open box 28) 
(shelf view)
.... Box 28 is one of seven boxes that hold the Civil Rights subseries (found in boxes 22-28 of the collection)
.... Civil Rights is one subseries of The Subject Matter File (or subject matter Series, as we call it)
...The Subject Matter Series is one of 14 Series in the larger Kefauver Papers, MPA.0144.
We don't need to know the series or subseries in order to pull a box for you. But it may be useful to know why archival collections are organized the way they are.