Special Collections

CONTACT INFORMATION
121 John C. Hodges Library
1015 Volunteer Boulevard
Phone: (865) 974-4480
Email: special@utk.edu
HOURS
Monday - Friday
9:00 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Authors Featured in Guide
- Agee, James
- Bell, Madison Smartt
- Chapman, Maristan
- Dromgoole, Will Allen
- Dykeman, Wilma
- Edwards, Lawrence
- Gordon, Caroline
- Giovanni, Nikki
- Haley, Alex
- Horn, Stanley Fitzgerald
- Jarrell, Randall
- Justus, May
- Kroll, Harry Harrison
- Lytle, Andrew Nelson
- Madden, David
- Marius, Richard
- McCarthy, Cormac
- McCoy, Horace
- Merchant, Jane
- Miller, Nell Thompson
- Mooney, Stephen LeRoy
- Murfree, Mary Noailles
- Ransom, John Crowe
- Scarbrough, George
- Scott, Evelyn
- Stribling, T.S.
- Tate, Allen
- Taylor, Peter Hillsman
- Walker, Robert Sparks
- Warren, Robert Penn
- Whitehead, Don
- Williams, Samuel Cole
- Williams, Tennessee
Welcome
Special Collections, located on the first floor in Hodges Library, preserves and provides access to rare and unique materials that support instruction and research at the University of Tennessee. Available formats include rare books, manuscripts, letters, diaries, photographs, and digital collections.
Tennessee has been home to many notable writers, including James Agee, Nikki Giovanni, Evelyn Scott, and Allen Tate. This research guide identifies special collections materials by prominent poets, authors, historians, and essayists that lived in Tennessee or wrote wrote about the region.
The guide is not a comprehensive list but, instead, an introduction to selected authors whose works are available in our collections. To find more materials:
Visit the Special Collections finding aid database at http://dlc.lib.utk.edu/spc/search
Visit the library catalog at http://www.lib.utk.edu
SEARCH TERMS
American literature -- Southern States
American literature -- Southern States – Bibliography
Authors, American – Tennessee
Authors, American – Tennessee -- Biography
Poets, American -- Tennessee
Poets, American -- Tennessee -- Biography
Tennessee Authors
Tennessee, East -- In literature
Tennessee Writers
General Reference Resources
- Authors of Nashville and Davidson County (PS253.T2 N3)
- Authors of Tennessee (PS253.T2 M4)
- Literature of Tennessee (PS266.T2 L57 1984)
- Native Tennessee Authors and Illustrators of Children's and Young Adult Literature (PS266.T2 P34 1996)
- Our Literary Heritage. A Guide for Tennessee in Literature (PS253.T2 M3)
- Poets in Tennessee: Fifteen Biographical Notes (PS266.T2 T4)
- Tennessee Belles-Lettres: A Guide to Tennessee Literature (PS266.T2 W37)
- Tennessee in Literature (PS253.T2 H3)
- Tennessee Writers (PS266.T2 Y6 )
Other Notable Authors
Adams, Deborah
Boyle, Virginia Frazer
Bradford, Roark
Cable, George Washington
Caldwell, Mary French
Crabb, Alfred
Foote, Shelby
Ford, Jesse Hill
Fort, John Porter
Harris, George Washington
Krutch, Joseph Wood
Mcdonald, Gregory
Milton, George Fort
Rothrock, Mary
Steele, William O.
Thornburgh, Laura


Loading...
