Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
- English-Greek Dictionary by S. C. Woodhouse--1910From the University of Chicago Library.
- A Latin Dictionary by Charlton T. Lewis and Charles ShortPart of the Perseus website.
- Oxford Dictionary of the Classical WorldContains more than 2,500 entries on the civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome. The dictionary covers key aspects of ancient Greek and Roman life and literature, such as science, social structure, philosophy, and religion, and contains comprehensive articles on central figures, both real and mythological, from Achilles to Zeno.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and RomeA multi-volume contemporary work examining the classical Mediterranean world from an interdisciplinary perspective.
- Oxford Reference Online
Multi-disciplinary reference collection including dictionaries, timelines, quotations, and other reference resources.
Online Access - 5 simultaneous users
Online Libraries & Directories
- Classical & Medieval History: An Annotated List of Reference WebsitesA select list of classical and medieval history websites from the Library of Congress Web Archives.
- Classical Latin TextsThis site, from the Packard Humanities Institute, contains essentially all Latin literary texts written before A.D. 200, as well as some texts selected from later antiquity.
- Electronic Resources for Classicists: The Second GenerationA "mega-site" of classics-related links, from e-text archives and projects to collections of images and electronic journals.
- The Medieval & Classical Literature LibraryThis online library is a collection of some of the most important literary works of classical and medieval civilization.
- Perseus Digital LibraryThis collection covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world, and includes classical texts in translation that can be searched online, as well as links to museum images of architecture, sculpture, and vases.
- Voice of the Shuttle: Classical StudiesVoS is woven by Alan Liu and a development team from the University of California, Santa Barbara, English Department.
Selected Databases at UT Libraries
Primary Sources
- L'Annee PhilologiqueOnline version of the standard index for Classical Studies including authors and texts, literature, linguistics, archaeology, epigraphy and numismatics, history, philosophy, science, and technology.
- Library of Latin Texts
Contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). The complete works of writers such as Cicero, Virgil, Augustine, Anselm of Canterbury, and Thomas Kempis.
- Loeb Classical Library
Collection of classic Latin and Greek texts with English translations.
- Thesaurus Linguae GraecaeContains virtually all Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600, and the majority of surviving works up to the fall of Byzantium in A.D. 1453. Requires Greek fonts in order to view texts in Greek. Create an account to fully access the licensed material.
- Thesaurus Linguae LatinaeA comprehensive collection of all Latin dictionaries ranging from ~600 BCE to the 7th century CE. Represents all stages of the Latin language from the archaic to early medieval period.
Image Databases
Archivision The Archivision Architectural Image Collection, comprised of approximately 15,000 high-resolution images, encompasses a variety of architecture, landscape design, and public art from North America, Europe, and Asia. UT NetID login required.
- ARTstor
This link opens in a new window
More than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences.
Additional Databases
- Anthropology PlusExtensive index of materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology and related interdisciplinary research from the 1880s to present. Includes the classical period.
- Art full text (H.W. Wilson)Index to art including classical art. At the first screen, you can select to search both indexes together.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerialsIndexes articles and essays on world religions. Can be searched in combination with Humanities International Complete and the Avery Index.
- Avery Index to Architectural PeriodicalsIndex to architecture including that of the Classical world. Can be searched in combination with Humanities International Complete and the ATLA Religion Index.
- Humanities International CompleteMulti-disciplinary index to a wide-range of Humanities journal. A good starting point for students. Can be searched in combination with ATLA Religion Index and the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals.
- JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, including 78 classical studies journals. Also included are books and primary sources, including images.
For tutorial modules on using JSTOR, see "JSTOR Tutorials" in the "Library Tutorials" section of this guide. - Gale Literature CriticismThis database provides access to the full-text of 10 literary criticism reference sets, including Classical & Medieval Literature Criticism, to which you can limit a search. Search results include essays (excerpts or full-text) published from an individual's time to the present, as well as biographical and bibliographical information. Click on "What's Inside" to limit to Classical & Medieval Literature Criticism volumes.
- FirstSearchProvides access to over 52 million records of any type of material cataloged in libraries around the world.
Other Online Resources
- Bryn Mawr Classical ReviewPublishes timely open-access, peer-reviewed reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies (including archaeology).
- Electronic AntiquityAn open-access online journal of classics hosted by Virginia Tech.
- NestorNestor is an international bibliography of Aegean studies, Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields. It includes publications concerning the central and western Mediterranean, southeastern Europe, the eastern Mediterranean, western Asia, and other regions of archaeological research.
- Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to ClassicistsTOCS-IN provides the tables of contents of a selection of classics, Near Eastern Studies, and religion journals, both in text format and through a Web search program. Where possible, links are given with articles of which the full text or an abstract is available online (about 15%). The project began to archive current tables of contents in 1992, and now contains nearly 200 journals, and nearly 100,000 articles.
New Books in Classics
Guides & Library Tutorials
- Guide to Classics Call Numbers A guide to Classics LC call numbers provided by USC Libraries: "For the most part, material for the study of classical antiquity is located in the classes PA "Classical Philology and Literature," and DE, DF, and DG, for general Mediterranean, Greek, and Roman history respectively. However, a substantial amount of relevant material is distributed elsewhere in the classification system, largely according to the subject matter of the work."
- UT Libraries' TutorialsUT Libraries has created a menu of tutorials on using library resources, from finding articles and citing sources to primary vs. secondary sources.
- JSTOR TutorialThis video series guides users through using the database JSTOR, which includes selected scholarly journals and articles in humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- WorldCat TutorialThis video series guides users through using the database WorldCat, which is a record of materials cataloged in libraries around the world.
Citation & Writing Guidelines
- Citing SourcesThis guide provides resources for formatting papers, citing sources, and managing citations.
- Citing Sources for Classics Courses: A Basic GuideA step-by-step guide to citing resources in Classics provided by Swarthmore College.
- Citation Management ResourcesThis guide provides information on the citation management programs EndNote, Zotero, and Mendeley. You will find information on EndNote instruction sessions here.
